DUI Lawyer

DUI/DWI legal woes? We can help!

After being charged with a DUI, you must quickly prepare yourself to do everything you can to protect your best interests. At the Stoddard Law Firm, we have the knowledge and experience you'll need to help prevent you from losing your driver's license or going to jail.

A dedicated Anderson, South Carolina DUI lawyer

Attorney David Stoddard has extensive experience handling DUI, DWI cases as a defense lawyer and a prosecutor. He has gained significant insight into what strategies and arguments are best suited to defeat your charges, and he stands ready to assist you today.

How We Can Help You With Your DUI

Just because you are charged with DUI, it doesn't mean you are guilty. You do have options. If you do not plead guilty, the State must prove you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. The good news is, you are normally sentenced the same whether you plead guilty, or are found guilty after a trial. A colleague of mine once said, "I do not know why anybody would plead guilty to DUI." His point is, even if the evidence appears to be overwhelming, there is little downside to going to trial as opposed to giving in and pleading guilty. Also, if you decide to plead guilty, just by asking for trial, you can sometimes get the fine lowered, related charges dropped, or some other plea bargain benefit so that the State can avoid having to try the case. Call us. Let us explain your options.

Honesty in DUI legal practice

Honesty in DUI legal practice

Attorney David Stoddard takes his obligation to his clients very seriously. When handling your case, he makes certain that you are treated with the personal attention and respect you deserve. He will be honest and upfront with you about your situation. He will explain how weak or strong the case is against you, and explain your options.
Lawyer Stoddard litigates DUI cases on a set-fee basis. While fees are subject to change depending on the complexity if the case, he charges a set fee of $2,999.00 if you are able to pay the entire amount up front. He also offers payment plans for a higher overall cost.
If your case is legitimate, Stoddard will work tirelessly to ensure the best possible results for your circumstances. Lawyer Stoddard has successfully litigated many DUI cases throughout upstate South Carolina, helping the accused reduce or eliminate the charges against them.
Contact us today for a free consultation.
If you need an experienced DUI defense attorney on your side, call The David F. Stoddard Law Firm at (864) 375-0000 or contact the firm online to schedule a free initial consultation. From offices conveniently located in Anderson, the firm represents clients throughout South Carolina, including those residing in Greenville, Spartanburg, Abbeville, Laurens, Clemson, Oconee County and Pickens County.
If you have additional legal problems as a result of your DUI, Lawyer David Stoddard also represents individuals in other practice areas.

What penalties do I face for a first-time DUI offense?

In South Carolina, the penalties you face depend on your level of intoxication upon arrest.
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) ranges from .08 to .10, you face the following penalties:

  • Loss of license for up to six months
  • Fines up to $400 plus court costs
  • A maximum of 30 days in jail, with a minimum of 48 hours
  • Up to 48 hours of community service
If your BAC is between .10 and .16, you face the following penalties:
  • Loss of license for up to six months
  • Up to $500 in fines
  • Up to 30 days in jail, with a minimum of 72 hours
  • Up to 72 hours of community service
If your BAC is over .16, you face the following penalties:
  • Loss of license for up to six months
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • Maximum of 90 days in jail
  • Up to 30 days of community service
  • What can I do if my driver's license has been suspended?
In certain cases, you may be able to acquire a restricted or provisional driver's license after being arrested for DUI. South Carolina law allows drivers to obtain a restricted driver's license if you are employed or currently enrolled in college. This license allows you to drive to and from work or school while your license is suspended. It also allows these people to drive to and from mandated alcohol or drug programs

Am I eligible for a provisional license?

A driver may also be able to obtain a provisional driver's license after getting their license suspended for the first time. Drivers must meet the following criteria for eligibility:

  • The driver must have or had a South Carolina driver's license or be exempt under South Carolina Code of Laws 56-1-30
  • The driver must have no other suspensions except implied consent, implied consent under 21, BAC of .02 or greater, BAC of .15 or greater deriving from the same incident.
  • The driver must have enrolled in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action program.
  • The driver must have a certificate of SR-22 insurance on file with the Department of Public Safety.
  • The driver must be able to pay $100 for the provisional driver's license.